Day 3: Bible Lands Exploration 2016 Part 1

Hi dear readers and friends! My sincere apologies again for keeping you waiting. Thank you so much though for bearing with my slow updates on our visit to the places mentioned in the Bible. 🙂

Here was our itinerary at a glance for Day 3 of our Bible Lands Exploration 2016.

Day 3- Bible Lands Exploration 2016.jpg

On Day 3, we had breakfast at Leonardo Hotel and we got ready to board our bus. The strong winds outside the hotel made it challenging and yet memorably fun to get on our bus. (lol!)

On that beautiful windy morning, we had our first stop at the aqueduct created by King Herod.

Herod the Great's Aqueduct.jpg

This aqueduct is said to have been built by King Herod in 1 BC to provide water supply to the city of Caesarea. I apologize for the date stamp on this photo. It should have been March 2 but I had no more time to edit this. 😉

The body of water you can see behind this aqueduct is called Mediterranean Sea or the Great Sea. Below are some of my photos with my fellow Bible Lands Explorers. 🙂

Mediterranean Sea (1).jpgHere’s a few more photos of that place.

Great Sea.jpg

Our next stop was at Caesarea Maritima National Park, another stellar handiwork of King Herod. This was where the Roman government seated in Judea.

caesarea-maritima-1

Nymphaeum.jpg

Behind me is the Roman Fountain or Nymphaeum which was also created by King Herod. After getting into this park, I tried to take my selfie and a kind brother in Christ, Bro. Kenneth Cheong, graciously offered to take my portrait with his more advanced camera.

Caesarea National Park Group Photo.jpg

It is believed that somewhere near this spot, the Apostle Paul powerfully preached the gospel to Festus, King Agrippa, Bernice, Felix and some prison custodians. (Acts 24-26).  On a side note, I so admire Paul’s passion in preaching  of the gospel so that, not only the Jews but also the Gentiles, like you and me would get to know the saving knowledge of the gospel through Jesus Christ alone.

Here are some more of the views we saw inside Caesarea Maritima National Park.

around-caesarea-maritima-4

Inside Caesarea Maritima.jpg

The park was a vast area. There was a section for entertainment where people watched gladiatorial games. There was also an an area for horse race. We also saw many pillars made of marbles that portrayed much Roman influence. My favorite part of this site was the first photo on this grid. The port behind me was used by the Apostle Paul to arrive at this area and be tried before the governor and other Gentiles. Feel free to zoom in this photo as some of the remains are labeled and I intentionally placed them side by side for your reference. 🙂

So those are some of the photos of our first stop on Day 3. Feel free to review my album of Day 1 and Day 2. On my next post, I am hoping to share some more pictures that are full of memories taken at the next place on our Day 3 itinerary.

How about you friends? What place have you visited lately? What lessons did you learn from the places you went to see? What is something you realized from that visit? Please don’t hesitate to share them with me in the comment box. Until next time! ❤

Leaning on Jesus,

2 thoughts on “Day 3: Bible Lands Exploration 2016 Part 1

Leave a Reply

