God Gives the Increase

I knew that God has called me to be a missionary and my vision trip to Bangladesh in 2009 with my professor and his wife finally came! I was very much thrilled to finally see the country I have been praying for–the country that God has given me a burden for.

Needless to say, God miraculously arranged my trip, provided money for my passport application, ticket payments, and VISA.

“Touchdown! Bangladesh, here I come!” I was excited.

We visited Dhaka and another district called Khulna.

There was a brilliant Hindu girl I met during our visit there. She was very timid and yet, I could understand that she was curious to know me since I am from another country. I talked with her despite her silence and I couldn’t but keep memories of her in my heart even after our first meeting. I left that country with a burden to go back and see what God wants me to do there years later.

In 2011, my husband and I got married and went to his home country to share the gospel. We stayed for about a year in the village where I met that Hindu girl. We became friends!

I can remember one night well when God gave my mother-in-law and me an opportunity to open up the gospel with the girl I mentioned about. She put her faith on the Lord Jesus as her personal Savior. However, we were not able to do a follow up until the time came for my family to move to the capital to start another church planting work.

Our work went on and we lost communication.

One Saturday in August 2015, my daughter, my in-laws and I paid this girl’s family a visit after a long time. As expected, we updated one another about the recent events in our lives. We even showed photos and videos from our phones. Most of the stuff on my phone are my daughter’s pictures and video clips.

They heard Joanna’s songs about God and the Bible. To my surprise, this girl’s mother excitedly said with a huge grin, “My daughter can sing an English Christian song! Please take her video so Joanna can listen to it.” Take note that this girl’s mother is a devoted Hindu.

This pre-teen girl started singing “My God Is So Good.” on top of her lungs. What I witnessed amazed me!

I asked her mother, “How did she learn this song? That’s really great!”

“Some American missionaries taught her and her classmates at her school.” she replied.

Then I realized, God uses His willing servants to help His believers grow in their faith no matter what. Some are used to plant seeds of the gospel while some are used to cultivate or gather them. The bottom line is we need to do our share in expanding the Kingdom of God through the gospel wherever He sends us then He will continue to “give the increase” sooner or later.

He gives the increase!

He gives the increase!

“What then is Apollos? And what is Paul? Servants through whom you believed, even as the Lord gave opportunity to each one. I planted, Apollos watered, but God was causing the growth. So then neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but God who causes the growth. Now he who plants and he who waters are one; but each will receive his own reward according to his own labor. For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, God’s building.” 1 Cor. 3: 5-9

10 thoughts on “God Gives the Increase

  1. Such a neat story! It is amazing how God can use several different people along the way to influence another life. We might not even always find out how the story ends, but it is important to do our part while we have the chance! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Nance,

    Good morning! I found your post today on Reflect with Jann Cobb.

    Thanks for sharing about God’s provision. It is always amazing how He chooses to show up and to show off! I love watching God work!

    Hope you have a blessed day today~
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a very sweet story. I love the enthusiasm people in other countries often have over the things we take for granted. We have been singing that song in my daughter’s preschool co-op. I love watching kids sing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a testimony to God’s faithfulness!! He uses us in many different ways, just like the scriptures say, some water, some plant, but God does the growing! How exciting to hear of the salvation of a lost one!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

