5 Verses to Help Us Accept the Unexplained Matters of Life

Be it shattered dreams, unfulfilled expectations, disappointing people or simply unfair circumstances, let’s get real, they are part of life. Life can be unfair sometimes, but God is good.

I recently watched an interesting video of “The Not-So-Sweet Truth About Cabbage Patch Kids.”

In the video, Martha Nelson Thomas’ friends and husband felt that Martha’s intellectual property was stolen by Xavier Roberts. It’s sad. I also wish they could obtain the justice that Martha deserves.

Many a time, incidents like what Martha experienced happen in our personal lives too.

Indeed, situations that are beyond our understanding suck our energy, don’t they? It’s easy to dwell in despondency to think about why they happen.

Hearing the story, some memories of how I have been treated or judged unfairly in the past by some people started flashing back. I know they shouldn’t bother me at all so I have listed down verses that I use to help me accept the unexplained matters of life and I hope that they will help you as well:

5 Verses to Help Us Accept the Unexplained

1. “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28 (NASB)

God has allowed whatever circumstance we go through to occur for a reason and all we need is trust His will–yes, even when it’s beyond our understanding. It’s maybe that God will use us to comfort someone in the future who will experience a situation similar to ours. It may also mean being an example to a person who’s been looking up to us as examples of Christians and watching how we would respond to our state. I pray that God will us enough grace to be a blessing to whoever that person is and consequently, cause him to draw nearer to Him and to recognize Jesus as his Saviour, if need be.

2. “Be still and know that I am God…” Psalm 46:10 (KJV)

It has the same idea as #1. Being still in this verse has the idea of not letting any thought of doubt but faith when we don’t comprehend what’s going on. It means not worrying about what can be wrong but trusting that God knows what He is doing.

3. “Recompense to no man evil for evil. Provide things honest in the sight of all men. If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men. Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.’ Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head. Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:17-22 (KJV)

It takes a lot of prayers to be able to do this. When people treat or judge us unfairly, all we have to do is trust God to deal with them. Doing the vengeance for ourselves will only ruin Christ’s testimony in us. Let’s just pray for them. And the next verse is so deliberating.

4. “When a man’s ways are pleasing to the LORD, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.” Proverbs 16:7

Let us remain faithful to God. While it is easy to keep a grudge against someone and rewind whatever happened in our mind, we should focus on pleasing our righteous God. Pleasing Him means loving people even when we are rejected, gossiped about and judged unfairly. Pleasing Him means living out His word in every chance we have  in the midst of uncertainties in life.

5. “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:2

Most of the things that can discourage us are not worth our attention. I am persuaded that the key to overcoming discouragement in our soul is fixing our eyes on Jesus who is our inspiration of someone who endured rejection and all mean treatment by others through faith in the will and wisdom of our Heavenly Father.

What are the unexplained things that you are going through right now? Think on these verses mentioned above and I hope that you and I will have a fresher look at life. Let’s get out of despondency and live a life full of joy and victory in Christ. Let’s look unto Jesus’ example to help us accept the unexplained matters of this life.

5 thoughts on “5 Verses to Help Us Accept the Unexplained Matters of Life

  1. This is something I have struggled with a lot in my life – particularly when it comes to people who have purposely wronged me. It took a long time to get past it, to forgive them, and to move forward. Although, it’s not always that God has allowed it – sometimes, we have put ourselves in those situations because of bad decisions made. Regardless of which it is, God promises that in all things, we will see His good will done, and that is an encouragement, because He can use any situation for His good.

    The situation that was the hardest to get past was partially of my doing – if I had chosen to listen to warnings from my loved ones, listened to my heart about things, I would have avoided the situation. The hardest part to get past was knowing that if I hadn’t allowed myself into that situation, I could have been leap-years ahead in my life, as compared to where I am now.

    But God’s good will still reigned, and things came out of that situation and out of the paths it set me on that likely would not have happened (like moving back home where I ended up in a job I love; meeting the Christian friends I have, and meeting and marrying my husband).

    I wrote a post around a similar idea (focusing moreso on the why we shouldn’t desperately look for the reasons things were allowed), but what you’ve written here is definitely what I think we as Christians need to start hammering home. Trusting God can be one of the hardest parts of being a Christian, but it’s also one of the fundamental parts. God never promised an easy life if we follow Him – He actually promised the opposite – but when we trust that all works for His Good, we can know that there is a purpose in everything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

