Stay Where You Are, If God Wills It So

Unpredictable protests each week from the month of January this year–that’s what we are experiencing in Bangladesh at the moment. People’s businesses, student’s education, my husband’s work and Bangladeshi citizens are affected.

Summer is here. The humidity in Dhaka is quite high. My daughter and I have been sick for many days already. It’s easy to sulk in one corner and have an “I-Me-Myself Pity Party”.

Joanna's meds

Summer is here and my daughter and I are sick because of the hot dry air over here lately.

Yes, it’s tough to continue.

As I opened God’s Word today, I was just so blessed by His message through a supplement devotional, “Streams in the Desert,” I used this morning.

It’s a stupendous poem. It was so heart-gripping that I cannot resist to share it with you.

“I’ll stay where You’ve put me; I will dear Lord,
Though I wanted so badly to go;
I was eager to march with the “rank and file,”
Yes, I wanted to lead them, You know.
I planned to keep step  to the music loud,
To cheer when the banner unfurled,
To stand in the midst of the fight straight and proud,
But I’ll stay where You’ve put me.

I’ll stay where You’ve put me; I’ll work, dear Lord,
Though the file be narrow and small,
And the ground be fallow, and the stoned lie thick,
And there seems to be no life at all.
The field is thine own, only give me the seed.
I’ll sow it with never a fear;
I’ll till the dry solid while I wait for the rain,
And rejoice when the green blades appear;
I’ll work where You’ve put me.

I’ll stay where You’ve put me; I will, dear Lord;
I’ll bear the day’s burden and heat,
Always trusting Thee fully; when even has come
And then, when my earth work is ended and done,
In the light of eternity’s glow,
Life’s record all closed, I surely shall find
It was better to stay than to go;
I’ll stay where You’ve put me.”

“Oh, restless heart, that beat against your prison bar of circumstances, yearning for a wider sphere of usefulness, leave God to order all your days. Patience and trust, in the dullness of the routine of life, will be the best preparation for a courageous bearing of the tug and strain of the larger opportunity which God may sometime send you.”

“Be thou there till I bring thee word.” Matthew 2:13
Mrs. Charles Cowman

What is it that makes you feel like leaving your God-given calling or task in whatever field? You name it, but please stay where you are, if God wills it so. Never give up and keep your eyes fixed on His promises, provision and perfect will. It may pain you to do so, but God will and can use your circumstance for His glory.

So, let’s stay where we are, if that is God’s calling and let’s wait and see His name glorified!

Love,
Nance

8 thoughts on “Stay Where You Are, If God Wills It So

  1. I love poems, and I love the message in this one. I have trouble accepting God’s plan for my life sometimes when I don’t feel like I’m moving and shaking enough. But just to be still and content where God has planted me is a good lesson to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

