Rerouted by God: Must We Follow or Not?

Joanna, my young tot loves adventures. Just like any other kid, she is extremely independent and is always wanting to do things by herself even without asking my permission. More often that not, she ends up regretful after doing the things I have prohibited her to do. She does not fully understand yet the value of my warnings–she does not fully appreciate yet that the reason why I redirect her most of the time–that is because is I want her safety. I want her full happiness. Now, just as I want my daughter to be spared from trouble, God also redirects us and even if the reason is obvious,  let me share with you what He impressed upon my heart through His word.

As I read through Exodus 13 this morning, God powerfully spoke to my heart. It says:

“17 Now when Pharaoh had let the people go, God did not lead them by the way of the land of the Philistines, even though it was near; for God said, “The people might change their minds when they see war, and return to Egypt.” 18 Hence God led the people around by the way of the wilderness to the Red Sea; and the sons of Israel went up in martial array from the land of Egypt. 19 Moses took the bones of Joseph with him, for he had made the sons of Israel solemnly swear, saying, “God will surely [v]take care of you, and you shall carry my bones from here with you.” 20 Then they set out from Succoth and camped in Etham on the edge of the wilderness. 21 The Lord was going before them in a pillar of cloud by day to lead them on the way, and in a pillar of fire by night to give them light, that they might [w]travel by day and by night. 22 He did not take away the pillar of cloud by day, nor the pillar of fire by night, from before the people.”

Here is what I realized:

As God leads us upon our submission, He sometimes reroutes us. Undeniably, the ultimate reason for that is He has our welfare–our best interest in His mind. He does so not to hurt us but rather to spare us from danger and discouragements. It may be challenging to understand the direction He shows us, but all we need to do is trust Him and see how He will provide “pillar of clouds and pillar of fire” along the way. This is also taught in a hymn which was penned many years ago. There is no other way to be “happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.”

IMG_20141112_140316

He foresees the path that we have to tread. How can we not trust him?

I know in myself that there are still things I need to surrender to God. I need to trust His redirection just like how my daughter needs to trust my orders so she would be safe. It is my prayer that God would give me the grace enough to trust His leading and see His rescue from disappointments and troubles.

Now my friend, do you see that God is rerouting you as you follow His will in your life? Are you having second thoughts whether you must follow or not. That shouldn’t be! Indeed, there is no peace more perfect than the one brought about by submission to the God who only desires what’s best for you. Pray hard. Seek godly counsels. Read His word. Follow His leading. Without any doubt, you will end up victorious spiritually. Consequently, when you are victorious in your spiritual life, you will see that all the pieces of your life coming into their right places.

Rerouted by God? Yes, we must indeed follow by faith and He will provide all that we may need as we do so.

4 thoughts on “Rerouted by God: Must We Follow or Not?

  1. This is great, I have been talking on my blog lately about how we can learn things from our parenting that build our relationship with God and how our kids can learn from it too. I really like how you connected the two here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so timely in my own life as I learn to surrender my self will for God’s perfect will. I am trying to really listen to His voice and lean NOT on my own understanding so that He may direct my steps. I am seeing that some instance when my plans did not work out that God was in the mix redirecting me toward a more favorable situation. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

