Dalisayin Mo, O Panginoon: Alteration for “God’s Refining Fire”

Fiery Trials

There was a time in my college life when things drastically changed. I was in my final year when the administration office announced that the order of the curriculum had to be changed for the benefit of many others in our college.

While everyone was glad about the news, I was heartbroken. I initially assumed that it would mean that even if I didn’t fail any subject, I would have to extend my year of studies.

Wanting clarification, I approached our respectable college director. He said in an encouraging manner that I could manage to graduate in that school year. He mentioned that the requirement was for me to study certain courses individually. The college will supply all the syllabus I need and all I needed to do was make sure that I submit my projects and quizzes on respective due dates indicated on the syllabus.

I nodded and smiled at our director but in my mind, I complained to God asking, “This is different from what I expected this year. Why do I have to go through all these?”

Oh me of little faith! I broke into tears when I got home.

Contemplating upon my situation all throughout the week, I struggled to accept my God’s will for me that year. Thanks to the Holy Spirit who helped me decide to channel my anxiety into something more productive and beneficial. I then penned a Filipino song with an inspiration from the words of Mac Lynch’s song, “God’s Refining Fire.” I would like to share with you this song in both versions.

You may sing along the accompaniment I grabbed from YouTube.


~English Version~

1. O Lord, we pray “Thy will be done” or “Master, here am I.”
We pray You’d do a mighty work
That to the flesh we’d die.
And when the answer comes to us
In form of trial and test,
We fail to see Your loving hand,
Refining fire is best.

2. That I may stand when You appear,
Abide till Your return.
O place the fire perfectly
That all the dross be burned.
Whether furnace of affliction, Lord,
Or unfulfilled desire,
Bring forth a vessel pure and tried
By Your refining fire.


Refrain:
God’s refining fire, God’s refining fire,
May it purge me now and make of me what You require.
O Lord, feed the fire, Your refining fire.
Now as gold and silver must be tried,
Lord, may my heart be purified.
Lord, send Your great refining fire.

*Now, that you know the melody, try singing this translation using this other accompaniment which I also got from YouTube. Start singing at 0:12

 

Here’s the Tagalog Version:

Dalisayin Mo

 

What are you going through that is totally different from what you have planned? It is my prayer that the message of this song would bless and encourage your heart if you’re going through any fiery trial at the moment.

P.S. Indeed, nothing is better than a song sung in your own mother tongue, don’t you think so? 🙂

Leaning on Jesus,

4 thoughts on “Dalisayin Mo, O Panginoon: Alteration for “God’s Refining Fire”

Leave a Reply

