Good Works Cannot Save You, Only Jesus Can!

Many people around the world are yearning for peace–admittedly or not. Unfortunately though, they turn to money, fame and many other temporal things of this world to satisfy their empty souls. Needless to say, they also do good works here and there and think that it is sufficient to fill up the hole in their hearts and to cover the guilt brought about by sins. I was not exempted from the people I just described above until a turning point in my life happened.

It was April 11, 1999, a few days after my graduation from elementary school.  My mom was invited by an American missionary to come to a Bible Study in her house. My dear mom was interested to go to the said Bible Study, but was afraid that she would not be comfortable there. She then asked me to accompany her and so I did because I was also curious about what would be discussed in the Bible study. In short, we went to the Bible Study and at first, it was hilarious for me to hear some strange hymns. I found the songs funny not because they sounded like a tribal song or something, but because the melody sounded odd to me. The preacher then stood up right after the congregational songs and preached with boldness that no one can be saved through good works (Ephesians 2:8-9).

Salvation is a free gift from God!

Those words sank into my heart which moved me to pay more attention to more biblical things he had to say. He added that everyone needs the Lord Jesus Christ to be right with God. Jesus in John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

The preacher then continued saying that not a single type of good work, any kind of religion can get anyone to heaven. Solely, a relationship with God through Jesus Christ is the only thing that can bring us to heaven. Eventually, the Bible study ended with an invitation for people to be sure of heaven by accepting the gift of eternal life through Jesus Christ alone. I raised up my hand desiring to hear some more of the bad news (i.e. good works cannot get me to heaven) and the good news (i.e. I can get to heaven through Jesus Christ). The pastor’s wife brought me to the side and reviewed with me what has been preached and clearly showed me from the Bible that Jesus died to pay for my sins (I Cor. 15:3; Rom. 5:8).

1 Corinthians 15:3 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;

Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

What a great news to know that Jesus Christ died on the cross to pay for my sins! As she showed from the Bible, I also have to admit that I am a sinner and I need to confess all my sins. (Romans 3:10; 1 John 4:9)

Romans 3:10 As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:

1 John 4:8-9 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

It was evident enough that all I need to do is to accept my sinfulness, repent of my sins and believe on the Lord Jesus to be the only Savior and my personal Lord to receive eternal life as a gift.

That night of April 11, 1999, I recognized that I am a sinner in need of forgiveness of my sins, asked for God’s forgiveness of my wickedness and accept eternal life through Jesus Christ. After doing so, I went home confident of God’s forgiveness (I John 1:9) and also confident that God would keep us safe as we go home. Oh the joy and peace which the gospel (i.e. good news) brought to my heart is unutterable.

How about you my friend? Are you sure that your soul would go to heaven after you die? You can know how to get to heaven by understanding the gospel I just presented and doing the necessary steps of faith. May we not resist the mercy and love that God has offered us. If you found my presentation unclear, kindly refer to this link and take the time to absorb God’s message for you. God loves you, my friend. I am hoping and praying that you will receive this free gift of salvation through Jesus Christ and enjoy a rich relationship with God.

Go back to homepage.

One thought on “Good Works Cannot Save You, Only Jesus Can!

  1. Pingback: My Late Father’s Legacy of Wisdom | Leaning on Jesus

Leave a Reply

